Who We Are  |  Calendar of Events  |  Members Only  |  Awards  |  Education Hotlinks  |  Contact Us  |  Home


The Little Red School House 2013 Winner

The Little Red School House Award is presented to a school district that is selected for implementing the most significant, innovative and successful education program or project.

School districts are continuously looking for new ideas to help students achieve academic success.  In Baltic, they implemented a program to help students who struggle with academic and social skills.  This new program is called “The Homework Club”.    This is a program where select high school students provide mentoring and tutoring to middle school students that need help.   This idea was conceived in the summer of 2012.  Baltic had several students who did not qualify for special education but still were struggling to attain academic success.  The program began with having National Honor Society students serve as mentors who were then paired with middle school students, whom they believed would be able to create a common rapport.  The high school students help the middle schoolers get organized with their planners, complete (or find) missing work, study together and build a lasting relationship.  Results so far have been phenomenal.  Some wonderful and lasting relationships have developed as well as quarterly score improvement.  Comments from parents, mentors and mentees have been very positive




Billion Auto
Culver's Welcome to Delicious
  Dakota Ed Consulting
Davidson Companies

Great Plains Brokerage

Infinite Campus

Swier Law Firm, Prof. LLC


Architecture, Inc.

Beckenhauer Construction, Inc.

Dakota Fence

Delta Dental

Lunchtime Solutions, Inc.

School Specialty



, Executive Director     , Administrative. Assistant

School Administrators of South Dakota
306 E. Capitol, Suite 150 P.O. Box 1141 Pierre, SD 57501-1141
Telephone: 605-773-2525, Fax: 605-773-2520

website design by BPro Inc